This is a press release from Bloomfield Township. Press releases are official statements that have not been independently verified.

Following their reelection to the Council, Bloomfield Councilmembers Jenny Mundell, Nicholas Joanow and Sarah Cruz will be sworn in during the January 4 Council meeting at 6:30pm. Congresswoman Mikie Sherrill will make remarks during the meeting that is open to the public to watch via Zoom.

“I am thrilled to be able to continue to work with our outstanding Councilmembers to help move Bloomfield forward,” said Mayor Michael Venezia. “Together we have been able to accomplish a great deal over the past few years from investing in our infrastructure to keeping property taxes stable for our homeowners. They have also played a large role in our proactive approach to dealing with this past year’s unprecedented health crisis which has kept our families safe.”

“It has been a privilege to be able to serve my community on the Council since 2017 and I am eager to continue the progress that we have made in my next term,” said Councilwoman Jenny Mundell. “The past nine months have reinforced the importance of working collaboratively to solve problems and that same level of teamwork will be needed as we overcome this pandemic.”

“I am grateful that the people of the second ward have entrusted me to once again represent them on the Town Council,” said Councilman Nicholas Joanow. “The work that we are doing is making Bloomfield a more environmentally and fiscally sustainable place to live.”

“During my first term on the Town Council, I was proud to be able to advocate for programs and resources that benefit the third ward and the community as a whole,” said Councilwoman Sarah Cruz. “In my next term, I will continue to help lead the community conversation on ways to grow our opportunities for young people including a summer jobs program.”

To take part in the meeting go to